Dennerby, beware of Super Falcons FIFAWWC foes.

    Two of Nigeria’s Group A opponents at the 2019 Women’s World Cup, France and Norway, announced their rosters on Thursday, May 2.
    Norway coach  Martin Sjögren has named Chelsea duo Maria Thorisdottir, who is a defender, and midfielder Maren Mjelde on the 23-woman roster. 

    Fifteen players plying their trade for Norwegian clubs have been called up including Stabæk goalkeeper Ingrid Hjelmseth and Kolbotn striker Isabell Herlovsen who have 256 appearances between them for the national team.
    The Norwegian squad contains three goalkeepers, five defenders, nine midfielders and six strikers. 

    Ballon d’Or winner Ada Hegerberg and her sister, Paris St-Germain midfielder Andrine have been omitted from the roster 

    France coach Corinne Diacre has included seven players on the books of European champions Lyon in her squad list.

    Arsenal goalkeeper Pauline Peyraud-Magnin has made the cut along with Atlético Madrid’s Aïssatou Tounkara; they are the only two players representing non-French clubs. 

    The biggest surprise was the omission of the leading scorer in the French League, Paris Saint-Germain’s Marie-Antoinette Katoto.
    Nigeria’s first match at the World Cup is against Norway on June 8 at the Stade Auguste-Delaune, Reims and the African champions face France in their final group game on June 17 in Rennes. 

    Norway Squad : Ingrid Hjelmseth, Cecilie Fiskerstrand, Oda Bogstad, Maria Thorisdottir, Maren Mjelde, Stine Hovland, Synne Skinnes Hansen, Kristine Minde, Cecilie Redisch Kvamme, Ingrid Moe Wold, Frida Leonhardsen Maanum, Vilde Boa Risa, Ingrid Syrstad Engen, Therese Sessy Asland, Amalie Vevle Eikeland, Guro Reiten, Karina Saevik, Caroline Graham Hansen, Isabell Herlovsen, Lisa-Marie Karlseng Utland, Emilie Nautnes, Elise Thorsnes
    France Squad 

    Goalkeepers: Sarah Bouhaddi (Lyon), Solène Durand (Guingamp), Pauline Peyraud-Magnin (Arsenal/ENG)

    Defenders: Julie Debever (Guingamp), Sakina Karchaoui (Montpellier), Amel Majri (Lyon), Griedge Mbock Bathy (Lyon), Eve Périsset (Paris SG), Wendie Renard (Lyon), Marion Torrent (Montpellier), Aïssatou Tounkara (Atlético Madrid/ESP).

    Midfielders: Charlotte Bilbault (Paris FC), Elise Bussaglia (Dijon), Maeva Clemaron (FC Fleury), Grace Geyoro (Paris SG), Amandine Henry (Lyon), Gaëtane Thiney (Paris FC)

    Attackers: Viviane Asseyi (Bordeaux), Delphine Cascarino (Lyon), Kadidiatou Diani (Paris SG), Valérie Gauvin (Montpellier), Emelyne Laurent (Guingamp), Eugénie Le Sommer (Lyon)


    Please enter your comment!
    Please enter your name here