Kareem Rahmon, Mary Ajayi wins the Ogbomosho 10km Race

Rahmon Kareem an indigene of Ogbomosho land won the maiden edition with a good time of 34:44 minutes.

The ancient city of Ogbomosho was a beehive of activities on Saturday 28th November when athletes in their large numbers troop out to participate in the maiden edition of the Ogbomoso 10km race.

From the start point ‘welcome to Ogbomoso to the end`, ‘Recreation club’, over 500 athletes raced through the land receiving envious glances from all the thrilled spectators and onlookers.

The Young lad made it to the finish line with enthusiasm for winning more championship.

“I’m happy I won this maiden edition and the guy who came second pushed me to win the race because I had to meet up with his pace.”

The 20 years old lad believes he can win more laurels and want to compete in more championship.

“In this life, we have to start from somewhere l, I have started today and I wish to continue where I stopped in the subsequent championship”

The Second position of the Ogbomosho Marathon Race goes to Adetiba Abiodun with 34:35 and the Third position goes to Adeyemi Tunde with 35:34 who all took home prize monies of fifty, forty, thirty, twenty, and ten thousand naira respectively as a reward for their outstanding performances.

In addition, the female category was won by a 17 years University of Lagos Human Kinetics student Mary Ajayi with 43:37 with Bolaji Esther, Adegboyega Eunice, Olayinka Rukayat, and Jimoh Abike trailing behind her respectively to cart home the same prize monies as that of their male counterpart.

In her reaction, winning this 10km race is my aim and I have achieved it. I wish to compete more in the subsequent championship and make my state and nation proud.

Present at the event is the former Director-General, National Sports Commission and former sole administrator of NFF, Dr. Amos Adamu, Alhaji Saka Bello Aremo-ile, Chairman, Ogbomoso Parapo, and Chief Adeyemi Adedokun who represented the family of the late Samuel Ladoke Akintola.

Honorable Ibrahim Ajagbe Toskay, Chairman Ogbomoso North local government, Honourable Oyeniyi Oyedokun Timothy, Chairman Ogbomoso South local government, HRH Oba Adedeji Olubayo, Alarolu of Arolu, HRH Oba John Akinkunmi Areo, Olowode of Owode, HRH Oba John Akin Ayegboyin Alabewo of Abewo were all among top dignitaries at the historic event.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here