The federal Ministry of Sports and Youth Development is partnering with the Sports Writers Association of Nigeria (SWAN) on the historic event tagged: Celebrating Nigerian Sports Icons @ 60 Awards.

The Awards is part of the 60th Independence Anniversary Celebration of the Federal Republic of Nigeria.

Secretary General of SWAN, Mr. Jude Opara who is representing the Association on the Awards Steering Committee said the idea is to honour 60 Nigerian who have distinguished themselves as sports personalities.
Opara said there are different categories where winners would be selected from including; Legends, Icons and Pace Setters categories.

“To qualify for the Awards, a nominee must have won a laurel for the country in any international championship like the Olympics, World Cup, Commonwealth Games, All Africa Games as well as the Africa Nations Cup amongst others. Also, there will be individual categories as well as team categories.

“However, there are also those who may not have participated on the field of play but by their profession and passion, added colour and glamour to the nation’s sports industry.”

According to him, Sports Writers as well as members of the public are free to vote for nominees of their choice via a Twitter handle; naija@60icons.

Opara also said that voting will end by midnight Tuesday, September 29, while the Awards will take place on Saturday, October 3, 2020.

“Already, the Ministry of Sports has concluded arrangements to have the pictures of the Icons that would be voted displayed at the Velodrome of the Moshood Abiola National Stadium, Abuja. Interestingly, he added that the displays will last for another 60 days” Opara added.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here