Rohr Invites 23 players as new faces show up.

    The Nigeria Football Federation on Wednesday evening announced a 23-man roster for the Super Eagles upcoming Africa Cup of Nations qualifiers against Benin and Lesotho.

    An analysis of the roster revealed that three goalkeepers, eight defenders, five midfielders and seven strikers have been summoned for both matches by manager Gernot Rohr.
    Kaizer Chiefs star Daniel Akpeyi has received his first call-up to the national team since the conclusion of the 2019 Africa Cup of Nations where he was the first choice goalie.

    The German football tactician has also decided to give another chance to Vitória de Guimarães midfielder Mikel Agu following his outstanding performances in the group stage of the Europa League.
    Al-Nassr winger Ahmed Musa has made the squad as well as Everton’s Alex Iwobi, Glasgow Rangers’ Joe Aribo and Leicester City’s Wilfred Ndidi.

    Three-time African champions, Nigeria face Benin on November 13 before taking on Lesotho four days later.

    Super Eagles 23-Man Roster

    Goalkeepers (3) : Daniel Akpeyi (Kaizer Chiefs, South Africa); Ikechukwu Ezenwa (Heartland FC); Maduka Okoye (Fortuna Dusseldorf, Germany)

    Defenders (8): Kenneth Omeruo (CD Leganes, Spain); Abdullahi Shehu (Bursaspor FC, Turkey); Chidozie Awaziem (CD Leganes, Spain); William Ekong (Udinese FC, Italy); Olaoluwa Aina (Torino FC, Italy); Jamilu Collins (SC Padeborn 07, Germany); Oluwasemilogo Ajayi (West Bromwich Albion, England); Bryan Idowu (Lokomotiv Moscow, Russia)

    Midfielders (5) : Alexander Iwobi (Everton FC, England); Mikel Agu (Vitoria Guimaraes, Portugal); Wilfred Ndidi (Leicester City, England); Joseph Ayodele-Aribo (Glasgow Rangers, Scotland); Ramon Azeez (Granada FC, Spain)

    Forwards (7) : Ahmed Musa (Al Nassr, Saudi Arabia); Victor Osimhen (Lille OSC, France); Moses Simon (FC Nantes, France); Samuel Chukwueze (Villarreal FC, Spain); Paul Onuachu (KRC Genk, Belgium); Emmanuel Dennis (Club Brugge, Belgium); Samuel Kalu (Girondins Bordeaux, France)
    Ifeanyi Emmanuel


    Please enter your comment!
    Please enter your name here